RYAN ANDERSON Q&A

ivan leonard
2 min readFeb 6, 2019

--

Since your grad-transfer year at Arizona, how has the game changed?

I think the game has evolved. My draft class (2016) started the transition into small-ball play that you see today. A lot of guys were not really looking for the prototypical four or five but now it has fully transitioned into almost everyone playing on the perimeter. I think we have gradually seen that change over the last few years.

How has your role changed at the professional ranks compared to collegiality?

I do not think much has changed but I have just tried to advance my game. I have been working on my three-point shot and my perimeter defense both on and off-ball. I have played on the perimeter more compared to in college where I was mostly an inside presence. I am just trying to work on that while continuing to do what I do every game.

With your shot’s per game increasing every month, do you think you have found your niche?

Yeah you know it is about taking advantage of your opportunities and playing hard. I am not looking to always shoot because you also need to rebound, communicate on defense and whatever happens from there happens.

As someone who played with Allonzo Trier, how was that season?

I tell people all the time that Trier’s success is because he works so hard. He is probably the hardest worker I have ever encountered. We used to have to tell him to get out of the gym and rest because he is constantly in the gym. Whenever I see him again, probably this summer, I will definitely tell him dinner is on him but I am happy for him.

Have you been able to keep up with Arizona games?

Yeah I try to watch as many Wildcats games as I can. We are on the road a lot but I tune in when I can. I just watched them play against ASU and that was a tough loss. I caught one of Arizona’s games in Los Angeles as well but we are just trying to battle right now. It has been a tough season so far.

How far do you believe you have grown since college?

I just try to grow in every aspect of my game. Whether it is on the perimeter or inside, I just focus on improving every day.

--

--